Skip to content

Raison d’être

March 14, 2011

I like cooking and I like eating good food.  I also have a job that takes up a lot of my time.

When I get home from work on an average day, two possibilities confront me: I can order food or I can cook.  Mexican, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, or Italian restaurants offering takeout are only a few minutes’ walk away.  By taking this option, I can be eating a reasonably tasty meal within half an hour, and when I’m done, my kitchen is still clean.  It’s a fine option for any given night.

But ordering food creates a few problems.  First, I don’t get to cook.  As I hinted before, cooking is a hobby of mine.  I’m someone who really doesn’t practice any other art form, so making delicious meals and tweaking spices just so are my creative outlets.  Sure, I can cook on the weekends, but that really isn’t enough.  Second, takeout meals aren’t usually that healthy.  There’s a reason burritos or General Tso’s chicken or pad thai are pretty tasty, and I always feel a bit more sluggish the day after stuffing myself with a meal involving healthy doses of delicious, delicious fats.  Third, there’s the financial considerations.  I don’t really eat fast food, and man cannot live on $1.69 pastor tacos alone, as delicious as they may be.  A reasonably interesting takeout meal averages about $10-15 per person in the city, while a home-cooked meal can be exquisite at half the price.  Not really a big deal, but it adds up.  And finally, takeout food is collectively boring, and it’s easy to get stuck in a rut when convenience is a primary driver of food choices.

This blog is documentation of my desire to cook while working as a professional.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to chronicle the struggle of cooking on a limited time budget as well as keep track of some recipes that are fast yet tasty.  Screw Flanders Bon Appétit!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:04 pm

    I like pizza. I like bagels. I like hot dogs with mustard and beer. Those are creative, healthy choices right?

  2. Chai permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:58 pm

    I cannot wait to read more of this blog. And I am free to be cooked for whenever a second or third or fourth opinion is needed. 🙂

  3. Alan permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:43 pm

    You are such a nerd

    • March 14, 2011 2:44 pm

      No osso buco for you.

      • Draskireis permalink
        March 16, 2011 1:28 am

        That is a most marvelous threat. Only lasts as long as the leftovers do, though.

  4. March 14, 2011 3:30 pm

    Funny, the combination of lawyering + small infant is making me want to cook as well. I look forward to more posts.

    In the fast/tasty/kinda healthy vein, here are two recipes I liked recently:

    http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2011/02/moroccan-skillet-quinoa-and-chicken.html

    Note: the recipe calls for 2 cups broth but it should really be 1 cup or it is slimy. Quinoa would be way more popular in this country if all the recipes didn’t use way too much liquid. And I used an orange instead of lemons and added chickpeas.

    http://ibunbury.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-tea-cake.html

    Note: this called for a cup of oil, but I am trying desperately to fit into my non-maternity pants and substituted applesauce for 1/2 of it. It was tasty and super quick to make in the stand mixer.

  5. Grammy A. permalink
    March 14, 2011 3:40 pm

    You had me at the first sentence. And I’ll stay for the comments, no matter what the content of the blog!

Leave a Reply

